To Creep, or not to Creep?

Standard

That is the question.

As a college student who has grown up in the technological age, I consider myself to be pretty social media savvy. Most of my free time is devoted to catching up on the day’s events via Facebook and Twitter. I have all the necessary applications on my iPhone, and I stay connected practically every waking moment of my day.

Going through those day-to-day motions seems pretty normal for people my age, but after typing out that last paragraph, it seems pretty absurd. Why do I need to always be online and checking up with my peers and the people I follow? The answer: I am “creepy.”

Anyone reading this is probably pretty creepy, too. As social media sites have developed and more people are on them, the definition of a creep has changed. The top definition for “creeping” listed on http://www.dictionary.com is as follows:

creep·ing

[kree-ping]  Show IPA

noun

1.

Slang. the act or practice of following someone persistently or stealthily, especially online: Twitter andLinkedIn creeping is a normal part of my day.
Is creeping bad? Some say it is. But I’m going to go ahead and be the first one to admit that I love creeping on people. Ever since high school, I have been proficient in the art of problem solving and detective work using social media to find out what I want to know about my peers. Things like who tagged them in pictures, where they are, and who they are with are very effective ways to learn about people on Facebook. On Twitter, looking at who a person follows/who follows that person along with who they tweet at is helpful information.
IMG_2288
I like to think of all of this as being connected, but when it comes down to the wire, we are all just curious, nosey, creepy individuals who want to know about other people’s lives. And I love it.
Leave a Reply

